LIBERAL Democrat councillor Bill Revans has been confirmed as the new leader of Somerset County Council.

Cllr Liz Leyshon has been appointed deputy leader, while Cllr Mike Best has been elected chairman of the council, with Cllr Hazel Prior-Sankey the vice-chairman.

The new executive lead members and their areas of responsibility are Cllr Liz Leyshon (finance and human resources); Cllr Tessa Munt (children and families): Cllr Heather Shearer (adult social care); Cllr Mike Rigby (transport and digital); Cllr Adam Dance (public health, equalities and diversity); Cllr Val Keitch (local government reorganisation and prosperity); Cllr Sarah Dyke (environment and climate change); Cllr Ros Wyke (development and assets); Cllr Federica Smith-Roberts (communities).

Cllr Revans said: “I am determined that within the boundaries set by the Government, this administration will strain every part of what a unitary council can do to support our vision of a fairer Somerset, a greener Somerset, a more flourishing Somerset. A Somerset that cares for all and listens to all its residents."

Associate lead members are Cllr Derek Perry (governance and communications); Cllr Peter Seib (finance); Cllr Caroline Ellis (eduction); Cllr Mike Stanton (adults); Cllr Mike Hewitson (transport and digital); (Cllr Ross Henley (public health); Cllr David Woan (economic development and inward investment); Cllr Dixie Darch (environment and climate change); Cllr Sarah Wakefield (development and assets); Cllr Nicola Clark (communities).