NOMINATIONS to stand in the Yeovil constituency at the General Election on May 6 have now closed.

The acting returning officer at South Somerset District Council late yesterday announced that five people are to contest the Yeovil seat when the nation goes to the polls.

The candidates are as follows.

Robert William Baehr – British National Party.

Kevin John Davis – Conservative Party.

David Anthony Laws – Liberal Democrats.

Nigel Pearson – UK Independence Party.

Lee Skevington – Labour Party.